When Exercise Details Change

Learn how to modify exercise details even if the exercise was completed by a handler

number
min read
Updated
September 2026

Learn how to modify exercise details even if the exercise was completed by a handler

How exercise records work

In PackTrack, exercises consist of two parts:

  • Exercise details describe what will be done in the training. All handlers with dogs at the training event share the same exercise details. This saves time and reduces errors.
  • Dog completion is added when the exercise is over. This is where you describe how each of your dogs performed in that exercise. This information is specific to you and isn’t shared with other handlers.
k9-exercise-details-vs-completion.png

Sometimes, the shared exercise details need to be updated after handlers have already recorded how their dogs did. This creates a problem since changing the exercise can impact the correctness of the dog completion record.

For example, an exercise might define a drug detection activity with 0.1 grams of cocaine. A handler completes the exercise by describing how their dog performed and explicitly mentions the 0.1 grams in their narrative.

If the exercise details are later updated to reflect the actual amount (say 0.02 grams), the handler’s completion record may no longer be accurate.

What happens when details change

A trainer or group leader can modify exercise details at any time. If a handler has already completed the exercise, they will receive an email and site notification explaining that their completion record needs to be verified.

outdated-k9-record.png

Clicking on the flagged exercise takes you to the completion record where the exercise detail changes are explained. You can then make updates to your completion based on the exercise changes, or simply click Save to acknowledge and accept the modification.

If there’s a problem with the exercise detail changes, the handler should not resave their completion record and instead discuss the exercise modifications with the person making the update.

verifying-outdated-k9-record-changes.png

Frequently Asked Questions

What does it mean when my record is flagged after an exercise change?

It means the shared exercise details were changed after you already completed your dog’s record. Your completion may need to be updated to match.

How will I know if exercise details changed on a record I completed?

You’ll receive an email and a site notification. The exercise will also be flagged in your record list.

Do I have to update my completion record?

If the changes don’t affect your completion, you can simply open the record and click Save to acknowledge the update. If the changes do affect your notes, update them before saving.

Who can modify exercise details?

Only trainers and group leaders. Handlers cannot modify shared exercise details.

What if I disagree with the exercise detail changes?

Don’t resave your completion record. Instead, discuss the modifications with the trainer or group leader who made the change.

Still need help?

Can't find what you're looking for? Message the PackTrack team from the chat inside the app, or reply to any PackTrack email.